Skip to main content

Disability Type

Eligibility for protection under the ADA and Section 504 requires the applicant to meet one of the following three criteria:

  • Have a physical or mental condition that substantially limits one or more major life activity
  • Have a record of such a physical or mental condition
  • Be regarded as having such an impairment, whether actually having the impairment or not

Examples of disabilities include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Arthritis
  • Attention deficit disorders
  • Blindness/low vision
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Communication disorders
  • Deafness/hearing impairments
  • Emotional/psychological disabilities
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Seizure disorders
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Other health impairments